International Women of Courage Awards 2015

The International Women of Courage Award is an American award presented annually by the United States Department of State to women around the world who have shown leadership, courage, resourcefulness, and willingness to sacrifice for others, especially in promoting women's rights.  The award was established in 2007 by U.S. Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice on International Women's Day, Each U.S. embassy worldwide recommends one woman as a candidate. 

This year's winners 2015 were

Niloofar Rahmani of Afghanistan
Captain Niloofar Rahmani (C), of the Afghan Air Force

Nadia Sharmeen of Bangladesh
 journalist, is recognized for her exceptional courage and leadership in advocating for human rights

Rosa Julieta Montaño Salvatierra of Bolivia

 Founder and Director of Oficina Juridica para la Muje
May Sabe Phyu of Burma

Director of the Gender Equality Network

Marie Claire Tchecola of Guinea
An Emergency Room Nurse in Donka Hospita
Sayaka Osakabe of Japan

Founder and Representative of Matahara Net
Arbana Xharra of Kosovo

Arbana Xharra (C),Editor-in-Chief of Zeri
Tabassum Adnan of Pakistan

 Founder of Kwendo Jirga (Sisters Council)

Majd Chourbaji of Syria

She is the External Relations Director of the Women Now for Development Centers